Celebrating 3/21

Have you ever discovered that you were not simply mistaken about something? That, rather, that you were completely and utterly wrong? Today, I have an article published which describes my own personal attitudinal turnaround with regards to Down syndrome. Had it not been for the arrival of Little Miss Sweetness, two and a half years ago, I would most likely still be steeped in the deep-seated biases that I’m now embarrassed to admit I’d clung to for so long.

This link will take you directly to the article.

The article references a piece I wrote two years ago; if you missed that one, you can read it here. The current article essentially focuses on one small part of the first one, and expands on it.

Why did I write these articles for publication around March 21st of their respective years? Because this is World Down Syndrome Day. It’s on 3/21, to align with the three copies of the 21st chromosome which cause Trisomy 21 (Down syndrome).

world-down-syndrome

I’m not a person who typically advocates for “causes” or is much into “awareness.” I’ve never worn one of those ribbons, of whatever color. I make an exception for this particular cause. I know from my own personal experience how easy (and natural) it is misunderstand Down syndrome. Given the degree of misunderstanding out there, it’s not surprising that a large number of pregnancies involving unborn children with Down syndrome end in abortion. People are scared of Down syndrome. I know I was.

Here’s hoping that many hearts will be changed, and many minds will be opened, more quickly than my own was.

One thought on “Celebrating 3/21

Leave a Reply

